Home > State PSC's > Andhra Pradesh > Eligibility for APPSC

Eligibility for APPSC

Andhra Pradesh Public Service Commission (APPSC)


Age Limit

  • The maximum age limit is 28 years for Non-Gazetted posts and 26 years for Gazetted posts.
  • A 6 years age relaxation is also provided by the government from time to time.
  • The upper age limit will be relaxed in the following cases on production of relevant documents.
  1. SC, ST, BC - 5 years
  2. Physically Handicapped - 10 years
  3. Retrenched temporary employees in the State Census Department (with a minimum service of 6 months) - 3 years
  4. State Government Employees - Up to 5 years
  5. Ex-Service Men - 3 years

N.C.C. - 3 years

  • Other Restrictions/Exceptions:
  1. Employees of State Government undertakings are not eligible for any age relaxation.
  2. The above age limits cannot exceed a maximum of 40 years for BCs and 45 years for ST & SC.
  3. Widows, divorced women, judicially separated from their husbands who are not remarried, the maximum age limit cannot exceed (for certain categories of posts) 40 years for SC & ST and 35 years for OBC.

Representation of Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes, Other Backward communities and Women

Reservation Schedule

  • Schedule Castes (A, B, C, D) – 15%
  • Schedule Tribes – 6%
  • Backward Classes (A, B, C, D) – 25%
  • Physically Handicapped (Blind, Deaf & Dumb and OPH) – 3%(1+1+1)
  • Ex-Service Men 9APMS only) – 1%
  • Women – 33.33%

Reservation for Local and Non-Local candidates

  • The state of Andhra Pradesh is organised into SIX zones for the purpose of recruitment.
  • 80% of the seats (varies in respect of certain categories) is reserved for the local candidates of that particular zone/district.
  • Qualifying as a Local candidate:
  1. The candidate must have studied in an educational institution(s) for atleast four consecutive academic years in a total period of seven years of study prior to and including the year in which he/she appeared for S.S.C. or its equivalent examination. (and/or)
  2. The candidate must have resided in that area which is claimed as his/her local area during the above said period.
  3. The candidate who studied in the schools should produce study certificates from the respective schools.
  4. The candidates who studied privately should submit the residence certificate issued by the MRO.

  • Details of Zones: Each of the following Zones comprises of the following districts.

  1. Zone I: Srikakulam, Vizianagaram and
  2. Zone II: East Godavari, West Godavari and
  3. Zone III: , Prakasam and
  4. Zone IV: Chittoor, Cuddapah, Ananthapur and
  5. Zone V: Adilabad, Karimnagar, and Khammam
  6. Zone VI: , Rangareddy, Nizamabad, Mahabubnagar, Medak and Nalgonda
  7. Zone VII: All areas come under and Secunderabad