Home > Eligibility for Civil Services

Civil Service

Eligibility for Civil Services

What are the eligibility condtions for Civil Services Exam?

What are the eligibility conditions for Nationality?

The candidate has to be an Indian citizen for the posts of IAS and IPS. For other posts under Civilservices the condition of Nationality are more relaxed. The candidates can be a subject of Nepal, or a subject of Bhutan, or a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India, or a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda,
the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

What is the Age Limit?

A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on the 1st of August of the year of examination.

The upper age limit is relaxable for
SC/ST – 5 years
OBC – 3 years
Domiciled in Jammy & Kashmir during the period of 1st January, 1980 – 31st December, 1989 – 5 years
Defence Services personnel disabled in operations – 3 years
Ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least five years – 5 years
Physically Handicapped candidates – 10 years

What is the minumum Educational Qualification?

The candidate must have a graduate degree from a university recognized by the Government.

How many attempts is a candidate allowed?

A general category candidate is allowed a maximum of 6 attempts. Number of attempts has been relaxed for
OBC – 9 attempts
SC/ST – no limit
Physically Handicapped – no limit

Special permission for Candidates who appeared in 2011 – If the upper age limit or number of allowed attempts has been crossed, the candidate is still eligible if he/she appeared in 2011.